A-League (Boys) 2017: 9 in a row, 14 out of 15 for Rondebosch Boys High School

Rondebosch Boys’ High School hosted the 2017 A-League gala

Due to the Newlands pool being closed for renovations, Rondebosch hosted the annual A-league gala this year. While the crowds weren’t as large, more than 1000 spectators came to support the best swimming sides in the province on Wednesday 1st March 2017.

The Rondebosch side showed character to fight back after some early setbacks by dominating the individual races and with some good results in the final medley relays, managed to win the A-league gala for the ninth year in a row and the 14th time in the last 15 years.

A special congratulations should go to the Rondebosch matrics, Louw Jacobs, Brady Samuels, Joshua Templeton, James Hablutzel and Dennis Buckland who ended of their swimming careers at Rondebosch undefeated at the A-league gala.


Cameron van der Burgh, Louw Jacobs (RBHS), Chad le Clos and Brady Samuels (RBHS)

SA swimming sensations and Olympic, World and Commonwealth champions, Chad le Clos and Cameron van der Burgh were on hand to present the trophies to the winning Boys and Girls teams. Accompanied by Bert le Clos, our visitors graciously posed for pictures with many of the swimmers and spectators.

A-League 2017 (Boys)

Place School Points
1 Rondebosch 295
2 Paul Roos 276
3 Bishops 255
4 Paarl Boys 252
5 SACS 211
6 Milnerton 193
7 Wynberg Boys 177
8 DF Malan 165
9 Stellenberg 159
10 Durbanville 142

Herschel ended Rhenish’s 12 year winning streak, narrowly beating them by 4 points!

A-League 2017 (Girls)

Place School Points
1 Herschel 303
2 Rhenish 299
3 Rustenburg 263
4 St Cyprians 219
5 DF Malan 201
6 Stellenberg 192
7 Durbanville 187
8 Wynberg Girls 157
8 Springfield 157
10 Milnerton 152